For the past few weeks, leading corporate counsel and private practice lawyers from across the region have been nominating who they believe to be the best Latin American in-house lawyers and teams.

Having received more than 260 nominations, the LACCA editorial team has weighed up the submissions and drawn up the shortlist of nominees.

A judging panel, made up of high-profile members of the in-house community and the wider legal profession, is now being convened, and with their help, LACCA will now identify the winners among the shortlisted nominees below.

Those nominated will be honoured at LACCA’s 4th Awards Ceremony in Miami on the evening of 27 September, after LACCA’s annual regional meeting held that same day, at the W Hotel South Beach. All LACCA members are welcome to attend the meeting and the ceremony at no charge – see here for more details on location and here to reserve your space (simply indicate in the email whether you would like to attend the meeting, the ceremony, or both).

Here are those that came out on top:

Regional Team of the Year (team)

The LACCA Regional Team of the Year Award will recognise an in-house team that works exceptionally well across borders in Latin America. We will be looking for evidence of communal efficiency and innovation, as well as the implementation of core development strategies around the region.  

  • Aramark Latin America
  • Oracle, Latin America 
  • MercadoLibre Latin America
  • SAP Latin America
  • 3M Latin America

General Counsel of the Year (individual)

The LACCA General Counsel of the Year represents the very best of what the profession stands for. Judges will look for legal excellence as a baseline, alongside the ability to handle complex issues across borders, contribute definitively and amply to the company’s business strategy, and develop strategies to do so in as efficient a way as possible.

  • Valeria Plastino, Vice President and General Counsel for Latin America, Level 3 Communications (Argentina)
  • Alejandro Rubilar, Executive Director and Country Counsel, JP Morgan Chase (Chile)
  • Luciana Gualda, Executive Legal Director, Aché Laboratórios Farmacêuticos (Brazil)
  • Javier Oroz Coppel, General Counsel and Head of Compliance, AXA (Mexico)
  • María Pía Logiovane, Head of Legal and Compliance Latin America, Philips (Panama)

Deal-Making Award (individual)

From the company-changing M&A to a wave of small acquisitions, those in-house running the deals are fundamental to success. The Deal-Making Award will assess management of external counsel, successful strategising of the deal or deals, and, where appropriate, multi-jurisdictional work.

  • Flávio Franco, Legal Director for Latin America, Netshoes (Brazil)
  • Horacio García-Masi, Corporate Vice President and International General Counsel at Christus Health (USA)
  • Alejandra Flah, Managing Director and General Counsel for Latin America, Citibank (USA)
  • Gabriela de Mello Almada Ramos Lanna, Legal Manager, Assitance to Business and M&A, Louis Dreyfus (Brazil)

Legal Counsel of the Year (individual)

The Legal Counsel of the Year Award recognises the work of a younger or mid-level lawyer who is developing their legal and leadership skills. Significant contributions to the development and direction not only of the rest of the team, but also indeed to the broader business strategy, will be sought in recognising one of tomorrow’s leaders.

  • Andrea Eugenia Camargo Niño, Director of International Legal Affairs, Grupo Odinsa (Colombia)
  • Raphael Andrade Sousa, Regional Legal Counsel, Global Geophysical Services, (Brazil)
  • Tatiana Simões Rabello Franzoe, Legal and Compliance Manager, Zurich Insurance Company (Brazil)
  • Victoria Sanchez, Senior Regional Counsel, Mastercard (USA)
  • Juan Pablo Martínez, Legal Counsel, SAP (Colombia)

Social Responsibility Award (team)

The Social Responsibility Award will recognise the in-house team with a sustained commitment to making a difference in their community in Latin America through the promotion of pro bono or diversity initiatives (or both).

  • Viettel Peru
  • Sanofi Latin America
  • Mastercard Latin America
  • Claro Brazil

Litigation Management Award (individual)

From managing a heavy caseload to strategising big-ticket work, successful litigation management is core to any in-house team. The Litigation Management Award will assess management of external counsel, how litigation strategy fits in with business strategy, and, where appropriate, multi-jurisdictional work.

  • Eduardo Palinkas, Senior Litigation Manager for Brazil, Latin America & Canada at Hewlett Packard Enterprise (Brazil)
  • José Eduardo Andreosi, Senior Legal Manager for Paraguay, Uruguay & Brazil, Diageo (Brazil)
  • Ana Amélia Ramos de Abreu, Legal Manager, Thyssenkrupp, (Brazil)
  • Elias Marques de Medeiros Neto, Legal Director, Cosan (Brazil)
  • Humberto Chiesi Filho, Senior Legal Manager, MercadoLivre (Brazil)

Compliance Counsel Award (individual)

The LACCA Compliance Officer/Team of the Year will recognise an individual or team that has encouraged outstanding internal policies, training, and the implementation of programmes to meet strict compliance or regulatory obligations.                                                   

  • Adriana Laporta Cardinali Straube, Legal Manager, Votorantim Cimentos (Brazil)
  • Fernanda Beraldi, Director, International Ethics and Compliance, Cummins  (USA)
  • Cristina Jaramillo Román, Head of Legal and Compliance, Bayer (Ecuador)
  • Pedro Pablo Barragan, Senior Vice President and Global General Counsel, Jose Cuervo (Mexico)